Team

Hanns Schell

Hanns Schell is the founder of the museum and remains, even after 50 years, a dedicated collector. His passion for keys, locks and iron was awakened during an expedition to Pakistan, when he bought his first padlocks at the bazars of Isfahan. Being an enthusiastic extreme mountain climber, Hanns Schell succeeded in the first ascent of the Nanga Parbat (8125m) via a new route, which is named “Schell Route” after him. Additionally, he climbed the summit of three more eight-thousanders and five seven-thousanders. Since then, the former partner in the Odörfer Company has been committed to making his private collection accessible to the public and rejoices at many people visiting his museum.

 

Christof Schell

Christof Schell has followed in his father’s footsteps in many regards. Although he hasn’t climbed the world’s highest mountains as his father did, he is a leading partner at the Odörfer Company and also puts his heart into the museum. It is through his commitment that the museum was able to enlarge its collection with a wide variety of Roman keys. His enthusiasm for Michel-Mann caskets has enriched the museum with many pieces. Thanks to him, the museum also has connections to contemporary artists. The Austrian painter Oskar Stocker for example, has already worked on serveral projects with the Schell Collection. In 2019 Christof Schnell passed the operation of the museum on to the operators association “Verein zur Förderung der Schell Collection Graz”.

Mag. Martina Pall

As scientific director of the museum, Martina Pall is involved with heart, body and soul in researching the objects and in distributing her knowledge through publications and lectures to all those interested in this fascinating subject. It is thanks to her commitment that the museum has established an outstanding reputation among collectors and colleagues throughout Europe. Since 2016 each year a new special exhibition has been showcased due to her initiative, displaying new perspectives of the collection. Martina Pall is also representative of the chairman of MuSiS (Museen und Sammlungen in der Steiermark) and is part of the ICDAD board in position of treasurer. Since May 2016 Mag. Martina Pall is approved as a general certified and court-appointed expert for art and antiquities, especially for keys, locks, boxes, caskets, cast iron objects and guild signs in the list of the Austrian registered experts.

 

Gerhild Santner, MA Bakk.phil.

To ensure that no potential exhibition piece escapes our attention, Gerhild Santner keeps a steady eye on the market. As a curator, Mrs. Santner aims to showcase the objects of the Schell Collection in a new light for each special exhibition. You can rely on her expertise during guided tours of the museum as well as for the development of museum education concepts. Her range of duties further include public relations work, the Schell Collections app and the hompage. Additionally, Mrs. Santner works as lecturer at the Karl-Franzens university since 2018 and is a member of CECA (International Committee for Education and Cultural Action).

 

Mag. Verena Lang

Mag. Lang is responsible for our library and its scientific articles. Her guided tours benefit from her vast knowledge. When curating special exhibtions, Mrs. Lang enables visitors to experience objects in an historic context. Thanks to her knowledge in the field of ethnography, the exhibits fom Africa and Asia are in good hands. As a lecturer, she focuses mainly on historical and mythological topics. Additionally, she is a member of IMCE (International Committe for Museums and Collections Ethnography).

 

 

 

Marion Schell

Our helping hand for special occasions is Marion Schell. Stimulating discussions are assured during the detailed tours with one of Hanns Schell’s daughters-in-law. Children’s tours are always particularly entertaining under her supervision. Marion Schell is also taking care of all our exhibits stored in depots.

 

 

 

Emanuele Garsone

Enthusiastically Emanuele Garsone is trying to give our exhibits their brightness back. So kindly thank our museum’s conservator for his amazing work when you are leaving the museum, because without it, our locks and keys and caskets wouldn’t charm our guests as they do now.

Team

Hanns Schell

Hanns Schell ist der Gründer des Museums und auch nach über 50 Jahren noch ein begeisterter Sammler. Seine Leidenschaft für Schlüssel, Schlösser und Eisen erwachte, als er bei einer Expedition nach Pakistan in den Bazaren von Isfahan erste Vorhangschlösser kaufte. Als Extrembergsteiger gelang Hanns Schell unter anderem die erstmalige Besteigung des Nanga Parbats (8125 m) über eine noch nie begangene Route. Diese trägt bis heute den Namen „Schell Route“. Auch erreichte er die Gipfel von drei weiteren Achttausendern sowie fünf Siebentausendern. Der ehemalige Gesellschafter der Firma Odörfer engagiert sich dafür, seinen Privatbesitz der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen und freut sich über viele Besucher in seinem Museum.

 

Christof Schell

Christof Schell ist in vielerlei Hinsicht in die Fußstapfen seines Vaters getreten. Zwar besteigt er nicht wie einst sein Vater die höchsten Berge der Welt, doch ist er führender Gesellschafter der Firma Odörfer und ebenfalls als Besitzer der Schell Collection mit sehr viel Herz um das Museum bemüht. Durch seinen Einsatz wurde es möglich, die Sammlung um eine Vielzahl römischer Schlüssel zu erweitern. Seine Begeisterung für Michel-Mann Kästchen bereicherte das Museum um zahlreiche Stücke. Ihm verdankt das Museum auch den Kontakt zu zeitgenössischen Künstlern, wie etwa Oskar Stocker, mit dem schon einige erfolgreiche Projekte durchgeführt werden konnten. 2019 legte Christof Schell den Betrieb des Museums in die Hände des Betreibervereines „Verein zur Förderung der Schell Collection Graz“.

 

Mag. Martina Pall

Martina Pall ist als wissenschaftliche Leiterin täglich mit Herz, Hirn und Hand dabei, die Objekte zu erforschen und ihr Wissen in Form von Publikationen und Vorträgen an Interessierte weiter zu geben. Dank ihres Einsatzes hat sich das Museum unter Sammlern und Kollegen in ganz Europa einen herausragenden Namen erarbeitet. Auf die Initiative von Frau Pall hin entstehen seit 2016 jährlich wechselnde Sonderausstellungen, die die Sammlung aus neuen Perspektiven betrachten. Seit vielen Jahren engagiert sich Frau Pall als Mitglied im Beirat von MuSiS (Museen und Sammlungen in der Steiermark) und ist auch im ICDAD – Komitee (International Committee for Museums and Collections of Decorative Art and Design) im Vorstand als Kassier vertreten.

Seit Mai 2016 ist Frau Mag. Pall als Allgemein zertifizierte und gerichtlich beeidete Sachverständige im Bereich Kunst und Antiquitäten, speziell für Schlüssel, Schlösser, Kästchen, Kassetten, Eisenkunstguss und Zunftzeichen, zugelassen und steht auf der Liste der eingetragenen Sachverständigen Österreichs.

Gerhild Santner, MA Bakk.phil.

Damit uns kein mögliches Ausstellungsstück entgeht, hat Frau Santner stets einen Blick auf den Markt. Als Kuratorin von Sonderausstellungen lässt Frau Santner Objekte der Schell Collection in einem anderen Licht erscheinen. Auch bei Führungen können Sie auf ihr fachliches Wissen vertrauen sowie bei der Ausarbeitung museumspädagogischer Konzepte. Die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, die Schell Collection App und die Homepagegestaltung fallen ebenfalls in ihren Aufgabenbereich. Weiters ist Frau Santner seit 2018 als Lehrbeauftragte an der Karl-Franzens Universität tätig und Mitglied bei CECA (International Committee for Education and Cultural Action).

 

Mag. Verena Lang

Frau Lang ist für unsere Fachbibliothek und die schriftliche Sammlung unserer Objekte zuständig. Führungen werden durch das Wissen von Frau Lang zum Genuss. Als Kuratorin ermöglicht Frau Lang Besuchern Objekte im historischen Kontext zu betrachten. Auch auf den Pfaden der ethnologischen Arbeit vertrauen wir auf Frau Lang, die sich mit großem Einsatz um die außereuropäischen Stücke unserer Sammlung kümmert. Als Vortragende widmet sie sich vor allem historischen oder mythologischen Themen in Bezug auf die Sammlung. Weiters ist Frau Lang Mitglied bei IMCE (International Committee for Museums and Collections of Ethnography).

 

 

Marion Schell

Die helfende Hand für gewisse Stunden ist bei uns Marion Schell. Ausgiebige Führungen mit anregenden Gesprächen können Sie mit einer der Schwiegertöchter von Hanns Schell bei uns erleben. Speziell für Kinderführungen ist Frau Schell ein Gewinn. Fest im Griff hat Frau Schell unsere Depots, die sie stets auf aktuellem Stand hält und mit akribischer Fürsorge betreut.

 

 

 

Emanuele Garsone

Mit voller Begeisterung ist Emanuele Garsone dabei, unseren Objekten den richtigen Glanz zu verleihen. So arbeitet er sich unermüdlich durch unser Inventar, um jedem Stück die Ehre zu erweisen, ein Prunkstück unserer Sammlung zu werden. Danken Sie also auch unserem eifrigen Restaurator, wenn Sie begeistert unser Haus verlassen.